2004-10-28
Celebration

Celebration of Life

Today, before I caught a flight back to New York City from New Orleans, I found myself at a celebration upstairs of a building with a 6 piece down home R&B groove band, an 8 piece brass brand, a tap dancing 89 year old super fly man with funky authentic jewlery as his neck tie. It made me think about the real roots of deep soul and hip-hop. The party, which felt like family, was seriously my older friend's friend's sister's husband's father who had passed, and they were celebrating his life. People came from all over to eat fried cat fish, rice and beans, dance to amazing family and friends bringing the house down with their music. The tuba player at one point did a Marvin Gaye solo that was just wow. The complexion of the people around me were ripe and moist and their laughter juvial. What I love most about New Orleans is the soul, as Im not much of a drinker (but did pout down a few bourbon and diet cokes with the older man and his friend. It just felt like something I had to do in the moment. New Orleans is one place in the country that has been multi-racially mixed for 200 years. Very cool. You could feel the love coming from everywhere from the families. Good stuff. And Jamie Foxx in RAY is so amazing, it's not acting, it's channeling. Incredible performance and moving movie.

I had a great time but it was a little awkward at times... I am having to be careful not to give off any misleading vibes because I dont want this older man falling for me, I know he is already a bit -- and it cant happen. He is so cool, and such a good man, and very nteresting (Dr. King's personal lawyer and one of his many speech writers) but it's too much too old - for even me.

It's perfectly chilly and orange and yellow and shades of green. Im actually glad to be in NYC because of my sweet dose of encinitas and solana beach, a weekend that included several perfect moments with loved ones in a beautiful location with great yoga and love everywhere everywhere.

Im buried in work but it's flow like. Although sometimes it feels like a lot of lessons and awareness, it is also a process of rapidly letting go of silly hang ups. Maybe it's me, could be that the Rumi or Don Jose tuned me up a bit, shot me through a vessel of realizations, or something similar to that.

Im working up to my potential which is hard, not always easy. Im writing alot, which is part of the reason I am not writing in this diary as much, but I should. Im trying to learn some web page program that is supposed to be basic, we'll see. I do ok, but not great on the html circuit.

I need to drink more water.
I need to wake up earlier and go to bed earlier.
Id like to work out at 5:30 am instead of evening...

Basic goals above, Im pathetic sometimes at the basics.

I am thinking about taking the test to get my MBA too. I think I want to get a degree from an ivy league. I think that sounds silly if I hear myself repeat it out loud, but I am shamefully admitting it along with making a movie, writing a book, and writing more newspaper articles. I am in the process of writing the editor of Breathe magazine about a column I want to write about living and working as a holistic person in the "world" -- breaking it down with humor, and sensual, intelligent style, which is often missing in the holistic groovy magazines

I thought about something today. A Physicist is a master of physics, an artist is a master or expert in art, a publicist is a master of the public? Funny to think about. Im helping one friend get funding for a short film, and another with personal publicity. It's exciting when you realize there is this powerful layer of people you love ddoing great things in the world and youre all here to rise each other higher.

Oh yeah, I need to be better about checking messages and calling people back too.

Funny, I all the sudden feel like I have a lot to do.

Ill start with drinking water.

previous | next
all past entries

email

diary hosted by Diaryland.com